Everything issues from mind

I recently returned to my Buddhist practice of daily meditation after a long hiatus.  Unfortunately, I found that rather than being present and aware, it was easier in the stress of life to be numb.  I found myself drinking more and using that as a tool to medicate myself.  I found myself more easily angered, less compassionate and more cynical towards life.  I wasn’t happy and that unhappiness affected all those around me.

I am committing to finding time to sit each day, to be mindful of  my feelings and emotions, to cultivate compassion for myself and for others.  My thinking today is on a portion of the first verse of the Dhammapada (this version translated by Gil Fronsdal).  I offer it up to anyone who is reading my blog as food for your thinking and living.

“All experience is preceded by mind,
Led by mind,
Made by mind.
Speak or act with a corrupted mind,
And suffering follows
As the wagon wheel follows the hoof of the ox.

All experience is preceded by mind,
Led by mind,
Made by mind,
Speak or act with a peaceful mind,
And Happiness follows
Like a never-departing shadow.”

Leave a Reply

