Tao Te Ching chapter 2

Because I work on the weekends (usually doing homework in between patients) and go to school all week, my time and energy to read selections that I want to read is limited, as opposed to things that I am assigned to read, which seem to fill my schedule.  So I grabbed my copy of the Tao Te Ching, which has always been for me a rich and thought provoking source of perspective for living in harmony and balance.  

Anyway, its short chapters (or verses) are perfect for my busy life.  So I thought I would read a little of it yesterday and I settled on verse 2.  It is a good reminder that things are connected, that it isn’t so much about controlling our reality but moving in harmony with the cycles of our reality.  Yin gives birth to yang and yang to yin.  While the concept isn’t difficult, it is deep and mysterious.  And as verse one says:

“Free from desire, you realize the mystery.
Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations.”

our desires cause us to cling and limit what we experience.  

 

Leave a Reply

