The Joy of Meditation

Since taking up Buddhist practice on a daily basis, only three individual days have passed where I did not stop to sit and cultivate mindfulness through meditation. That is the goal, after all: “cultivating mindfulness.”  Meditation is meant to bring into your life the intentionality of practicing mindful living in the present, embracing the causes and conditions that are presently in one’s life, the emotions that exist in the midst of those causes and conditions and to do so without judgment but with awareness.

All that being said, I have to say that sometimes my monkey mind is unruly and that any mindfulness on such days is fleeting and momentary. The busy affect of life is one of the biggest challenges. Some days there is just so much packed into my day (studying, class, family and work) that there have been days where I squeezed out only 15 minutes to sit. On those days, I figure the routine and any time spent is better than no practice at all. That is another point, not judging your practice, but to continue the practice. Meditation is going to be like any other important part of life; it requires commitment. Some mornings I am in the habit of rising at 4:00 a.m. so that I can have a couple of quiet hours to study before early classes (these are some of my busiest days). So as crazy as it would seem to some, in order to have morning time to sit, I rise 30 minutes earlier. I have to say that these are some of the sweetest times meditating.

All in all I have to say that I love my time sitting in meditation. I am drawn to it and I see its benefits in the rest of my life as I see mindfulness growing as a disposition. The books I am reading about this new path (The Issue At Hand, A practical Guide to Buddhist Meditation, Simple Path, and The Teachings of the Buddha) are also enriching my practice. I am such the novice, but sitting is a joy to me and I intend to grow and increase my time; but most importantly, I want to be a mindful person no matter what I am doing: sitting, shopping, studying, working, spending time with my family or talking to a stranger.

Leave a Reply

