Still working at meditation

As I continue to attempt a daily time of meditation, I have discovered that it is extremely difficult to control one’s mind and thoughts, even when you quietly set time aside to cultivate this practice. Some days I am more successful than others but I do see a little improvement as I continue. I am told that it takes years, even decades to become proficient in cultivating mindfulness, and I believe it. But I still believe it to be a worthy and worthwhile practice in which I plan to persist.

I have found that it is harder to quiet oneself in the middle of a busy schedule. So maybe I need also to work on my broader living, reducing hurry, stress etc. I think I will try to do that and see if my meditation becomes easier too.

Leave a Reply

