Is there anything in life that does not require interepretation?

I have recently encountered some disagreements with some folks. The interesting thing is that there is an assumption by some that my recent views were in error and the Bible was that to which these folks thought my political views were contrary.

In reality we probably interpret those specific Bible references differently and with different filters. That thought led me to ponder if there is anything in life that does not require interpretation? I think that there isn’t. No matter what we perceive, hear, feel or read, it requires that I evaluate what I have perceived and in that evaluation I bring definition and meaning to that which I have encountered. In reality some of that meaning is from perception, some is imposed by our interpretation.

At any rate, can anyone think of anything in life that requires no interpretation?

Leave a Reply

