Comfort seen from the wisdom of my son

There has been much talk these days about the the financial meltdown and the coming end of the world, which is, of course, signaled by the end of the Mayan calendar in 2012. It has spawned cataclysmic movies, adding visualizations to the frenzy and for some (though it is hard to believe) probably a measure of fear. Now I enjoy a good end of the world movie, probably for the special effects and I am not beyond imagining that at some point circumstances could culminate to unravel our culture, infrastructure and a good point of our society. Heck, if Yellowstone blew it could very well send us into a volcanic winter that would devastate North America and probably have dire effects for the rest of the globe. The possibility of that happening isn’t at issue, the problem that I have is when people tell us when that is going to happen.

But further discussion on that is for another blog entry another day. I wanted to comment or share the perspective from a 7 year old. My son, Joel, is a pretty smart kiddo and a broad thinker.  This morning he told me that “some people probably think the world is going to end in 2012.” He went on to say that “its not going to end then.” When I asked him why he was sure about that, he told me that 2012 couldn’t be the end of the world because Mor Furniture For Less (a local furniture store that advertises on TV) says in their commercials that people don’t have to make payments until 2014.

I smiled and thought, the world can’t end in 2012 because Mor is going to want their money for the furniture purchased today. So, I just wanted to encourage all you who might be fearing 2012…According to my 7 year old, there is nothing to fear.

One thought on “Comfort seen from the wisdom of my son

Leave a Reply

