lost in a novel

Anyone who knows me, knows that I read a lot. I always have a stack of books on my nightstand that I am working my way through. The reality is that I typically don’t read novels. I have tried on several occasions and if the story hasn’t grabbed me by the end of the third of fourth chapter, it probably is going to be one of those books that I don’t finish.

For Christmas, my son gave me three volumes of what will be a four book series by Christopher Paolini. I finished the first book, Eragon, in four days and as soon as I finish my sermon prep for Sunday and preach the sermon, I will begin the second book entitled “Eldest.”

These books have not been like the previously mentioned novels, I am hooked. I tell my wife, “I’ll be back later, I’m going to Alagaesia.” It has been wonderful to escape to Alagaesia. Then I find out that these books were written by a young man, who began the first book at age 16.   A close friend of mine correctly remembered that at that age, he and I only thought about girls.  So I am impressed with Paolini and  I highly recommend this series of novels, they are first rate in my estimation.

And don’t think that you can merely watch the movie and get the story that way.  The book and the movie are very different and, if you’re like me, you won’t really enjoy the movie quite as much as you may have before reading book one.  I started the movie last night and less than halfway through, I turned it off.

Leave a Reply

