“Focus on the Family’s” Silly and unacceptable letter from 2012

While I would love to be the one who articulately expresses the disgust with which the “letter from 2012” is received by this Christian and many others that I am in relationship with, I must resign myself to the fact that the heartfelt words of my beautiful and passionate wife used to attempt to register her own disgust on the “Focus on the Family” website (we often refer to this “ministry” as “Focus ON YOUR OWN DAMN FAMILY”), are better words that I could have mustered.  By the way, the focus on the amily website promised to respond within 3-4 days but, as of yet, have not responded.  But then again, what the hell could they possibly say in response.  Here you judge for yourself.  By the way, I completely and wholeheartedly concur with my wife and, I am damn proud of her response. By the way here is the link to the NBC article that my my wife first read.  In addition, here is another link to a poingent voice in reponse to this focus on the family travesty   Below is that response.

Response to Focus on the Family Letter from a Christian from 2012

Really not a question, but rather a gut retching response to the letter you sent out that is supposedly signed by “A Christian from 2012”.  I am a believer in Jesus Christ, but I am not a believer in the two-forked tongue approach of “Love your neighbor” but slander another human being because they don’t agree with your beliefs.  I refuse as a CHRISTIAN who loves God and seeks to obey Him to be included in your smearing of another person for your own political benefit.  I DO NOT BELIEVE that Jesus would speak so hatefully about a person, even if he did not agree with his beliefs.  Jesus was a strong communicator against those, particularly the Pharisees, who claimed to follow God, yet excluded and hated others in their presence.  What exactly are you trying to communicate about God by this letter?  That He not in control of our world if people elect Barack Obama as president?  That God is only in control if John McCain gets elected?  I refuse to participate in your kind of garbage.  This type of rhetoric has convinced me that Obama IS my candidate.  Thank you for helping me to make up my mind.  What I have heard from Obama is a message of hope…remember hope? It is what Jesus came to give us. You and McCain have done nothing but create hatred against another human being.   I am thankful that I will not be raising my children to follow your god…politics and religion.  I will be raising my children to follow Jesus….love God with all your heart and love your neighbor as yourself.  If you would like, I could write a letter from a person in 2012, who would likely say “Gosh, I would have like to come to know Jesus, but His followers seem awfully angry and fearful and mad.  I don’t want anything to do with that.”  I do hear that in my workplace and I do hear that among my contemporaries.  What you have done is wrong and I am thankful that MY God is merciful and that He is the One who will ultimately judge us all. 

Leave a Reply

