Why I am voting for Obama

The following post was my response to a friend of mine who asked why the hell he should vote for Obama .

 

I can’t tell you why you should vote for anyone.  I can tell you what motivates me to vote for Obama. 

Healthcare – I think we should all have health insurance and personal accounts won’t help the people who are with out and need it the most: not everyone is rich.  If you want to know what McCain is likely to do, there is a link to the right of this post that will navigate you to a New York Times article about just that.

Lobbiests – Obama wants to put these guys in check.  This is long overdue.

environment – rather than giving big business what they want, we should protect our environment and address global warming, holding businesses to standards that preserve our environment for our children and their children.  That just hasn’t been the republican response or voting record and I am not terribly confident that McCain will make good choices there either.  We need to get off of fossil fuels, Obama has a plan to do that.

foreign relationships – we need other countries and we need to be in relationship with them.  I believe Obama will restore our relationships.  Right now they are severely strained because of the Bush Administrations bullheadedness.

economy – 8 years of republican economics has put our economy in the shitter, I want that to change and I believe in Obama’s plan to put us on a different path.  If you want to know what that plan is, check the links to the right.

war – he will get us out of Iraq, a war we should have never entered into and focus our attention back on Afganistan where it should be to catch the bastard that attacked us on 9/11.  Bush led us into a war that wasn’t necessary and abandoned the one that was appropriate.  Obama will turn that around.

Poverty – he wants to work to help pull some of our folks out of poverty.  Poverty is a leading contributor to many of our social ills and the republican economic of the last 8 years have sunk more of us closer to that poverty line and done nothing to bring those already there anywhere closer to financial security.

Taxes – I like the idea that Obama wants to reverse the tax cuts on people making over 200,000 and leave them in place for the middle class.  I also don’t mind paying some additional taxes when my tax dollars are are going for programs and toward issues that affect the American people, and not going to some good ole buddy who is contracting with the US in Iraq or to some other rich business buddy of the president.  

Now these are just the main reasons.  I am not voting for him because of his faith and while Obama is labeled the “liberal”, McCain isn’t much more conservative theologically than Obama, being from the Episcopal church USA.  But again, I don’t vote based on abortion, gay marriage and what a candidates personal religious views are.  

In addition, should Obama find himself in the throws of some major issue with which he is not particularly experienced, I have every confidence in Biden’s ability to give good advice and to help shape policy.  And, God forbid, should something happen to Obama rendering him unable to finish his term, I am confident in Biden’s abilities, insight and determination to step in and make good choices for our country.  

Now let’s just say that I am off the planet certain that Sarah Palin couldn’t do any of the above for John McCain.  Her answers in her recent interview were tentative and obviously sourced out of much coaching so as to know what to say.  She doesn’t appear to have her own thought or views, except on religion and drilling for oil.  She was just a political choice, whom I feel is sadly incapable of leading our country should she be called upon to do so.  I know she would, but I am scared at where she would seek to lead us

There are more reasons that I am voting and supporting Obama but this is a good beginning overview.

 

One thought on “Why I am voting for Obama

  1. great response. One of the reasons I support him (keep in mind I am thirteen) is the fact that he isn’t afraid to vote left, center, or right to get the job done at the end of the day. McCain’s stats nor his history showcase that.

Leave a Reply

